Contradictions

I am human, and I am thus a mess of contradictions.
I have scars on my body, thick and dark and fat
against the pale of my skin.
They are not as beautiful as
the blog pictures make them out to be.
I am human, and thus I hide my scars from some
while displaying them broadly for others.
I speak my truths for some.
I blanket them with lies for others.
There are some truths they all can see:
My eyes are blue.
My heart beats.
I laugh too loudly.
I want them all to know:
My eyes are wet.
I wish my heart to cease.
I love too hard.
(But I’ll never tell.
The telling silence is
my favorite sensation.
As long as I am human–
a mess of contradictions–I’ll be
as loudly quiet as I can.)

Leave a Reply

